Everything College Sports

For those interested in all things college sports

Jeremy Tyler going to Europe–Bravo let’s hope this is the beginning of the end of the one and done

Below is a post I put on the NCAA Double A Zone in response to NCAA staffer Greg johnson. There has been much said about Jeremy Tyler leaving high school to go play in Europe and earn a ton of money instead of staying in high school and being forced to play college ball for one year allegedly to get an “education.” Greg states that someone needs to explain to him why going to college for a year is the worst thing that can happen (in fact these kids rarely stay much past the first term, and saying they are actually going to college is debatable).

Greg–please. It is not a prison sentence and Sonny has never even alluded to that. He is saying what is obvious to anyone out there, even to those who purport to think this one and done is some educational panacea. Simply put Greg–for those of us who were or are in the trenches, this rule is simply a way to control the athlete, keep a free farm system, keep the money for the members of the association and the highly paid coaches, and limit someones right to earn a living when their skills are most marketable. There is no education about it when a kid is shepherded through courses to pass those “tough six hours” only to see them drop out after the national tournament once those millions have been earned for others. What’s the rush–you only have so much time to market athletic skills. Who are you to say he can’t do it when he is 17??

There is no exposure to college with the one and done, there is no educational benefit to the athlete, but there is tremendous benefit to others who don’t want to lose their cash cow. It is a travesty to those who work hard in college sports to do the right thing and push education when this is simply a way to hoard money and pacify the NBA. What is the worst thing that can happen–he earns millions and decides to go to college at 30 or even if he doesn’t ever go to school–is that the worse thing that could ever happen Greg, or are you just worried that 6 billion dollar contract might be a little lower if our best players start going to Europe? If we truly care about “education” let’s adopt the baseball model, have the NBA start a developmental league, for that matter the NFL. Stop letting kids leave their senior year to participate in spring football, etc. but you know what–it is all about the almighty dollar and the one and done is the poster program for exploitation of athletes.

So yes finishing high school may be great for you, and no one and done does a “year in college” (it is a semester and a half at best)but it might not be the best for Jeremy and last I heard we live in America and we have choices, plus he is going to continue his studies. If this turns out to be a bad choice for Jeremy, then he must pick himself back up and move on to the next thing. That is life and he can go to college at any age–if he wants to. Personally I think he will be very successful, earn millions that he controls, not the TV networks, institutions, and overpaid and overhyped coaches who talk education but walk a completely different walk.
Bravo Jeremy I hope you have started a trend that will force this one and done into the trash heap once and for all and let all athletes test the free market (like these coaches do)–Good luck!!!

April 29, 2009 - Posted by | Basketball, Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. David, try to avoid absolutes when representing the negatives. Claims that one-and-dones receive “no exposure to college” and “no educational benefit” are prima facie suspect. Intuitively, that just can’t be right. Kids passing only six hours and rarely staying past the first term – a Bobby Knight scare tactic – can’t possibly be the norm. Indeed, as a practical matter, it must be the exception. At least that’s my understanding of the Academic Progress Rate.

    A kid who doesn’t complete the school year in good academic standing will harm his team’s APR. Thus UConn’s plight: loss of scholarships, a ban on post-season play. It’s not sustainable. One of Calipari’s freshmen, Daniel Orton, dropped out after the 2010 NCAA tournament, and he is not fondly remembered by Kentucky fans. He’s the exception, not the rule. Apparently, Calipari’s team has a 3.0 GPA. Its APR is at the top of the SEC, tied with Vanderbilt, no slouch when it comes to academics. If Calipari is the poster boy for one-and-done, his team’s classwork doesn’t seem to square with your characterization.

    But I’m not here to argue the merits. It’s an interesting debate, one that turns, I think, on whether one accepts what the NCAA likes to call the collegiate model. I take it Calipari does not. He’s more in favor of the baseball model. Regardless, I’m here to make a point about persuasion. If it appears that you are not giving the other side a fair shake, if it appears that you are exaggerating or misrepresenting to make your case, a la Bobby Knight, you instantly lose some credibility. I’m afraid that’s what happened when I read your comment above. It was a matter of form, not substance, which seems a pity. So for what it’s worth, try being less a trial lawyer and more a judge, less a politician and more a professor. I think you’ll find that it sells better.

    Comment by Wheatgerm | April 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. I have to first say wow–mostly because I thought this blog was dead but good to see that people are still reading it. I appreciate the response and I respectfully disagree on many levels. By way of background I worked in college athletics for almost two decades, I am a former Division I wrestling coach, along with being a researcher and knowledgeable about these issues. I am not sure of your background but I am not telling absolutes per se–I am telling facts, facts that you cannot disprove and facts based upon direct experience. Unfortunately those that leave as a one and done player do leave right after the final four- and we have had them here at Ohio (although Kevin Durant did stay the full year at Texas) they do not stay the entire year. As a practical matter–you only lose a retention point if they are academically eligible (I will save comments on the facade of the APR and how easy it to pass six hours when your winning and revenue depend on it and you have a multi million dollar eligibility center to keep them “on track. ” A team with a good APR doesn’t mean they are doing it right and the numbers are easily manipulated–See Michigan and Auburn. So I am skeptical and without academic disclosure I will continue to look on all APR numbers with skepticism, See http://www.thedrakegroup.org). It takes many years for APR penalties to bite you if you choose to crap on the system although there are numerous loopholes to delay punishment–as UConn found out, but in the words of Roy Williams and Calhoun–they are willing to take the penalties if they can win now and in talking to the former UConn AD–they seemed willing to take that risk because it meant a potential national title. The reward of winning a national title vs possible punishment four years later is a risk most schools will take and have taken-sadly.

    If there are players stay in at Kentucky for the full year–I would like to hear about it, but realistically are they really there, or are they being maintained as students to avoid possible penalties? This also happens–again I have seen it. What is not happening is anything remotely resembling education as these students are commodities being used to generate wins and revenue. I know this–because I played the game and did the very things I now abhor. I realize the error of my ways and that is why I am speaking out.

    I am not here to change your mind about the one and done and I have heard what people try to say is the other side, but there arguments do not hold water. I do know–absolutely that there is minimal to no educational exposure for those kids who come in a Freshman with the intent of being a one and done even if they stay for the full year. The NCAA and people like Len Elmore claim that “someone is going to get an education.” Really–show me. Disclose the courses, faculty everything permissible under the law–and show me they are getting an education. How does a few months in school as an athletic mercenary benefit them educationally? The schools will not do this because it will expose the system as a sham. The NCAA is as complicit with the NBA on this as I can point to numerous meetings etc before the decision was made by the NBA.

    Personally, it is not really the rule to me as I favor athlete rights. To me there is no other side in this debate and I really do not care who agrees or not. I think if a kid wants to be a one and done and leave after the tourney he should have that right. If he wants to go pro out of HS, he should have that right, if there is a baseball model and a kid wants to do that–he should have that right. Just like Jeremy–the athlete should choose what is best for them. We ask these kids to fight and die in war, yet we literally force them to go to the NCAA so we can have our fun as fans and be a free farm system for the NBA–because the kids see this as the only way. When Jeremy went to Europe, the uproar was that he was voiding his education–really, cmon–no one is that stupid. That is my view–so I am more with Cal than against on this and he is working within a bad system. Congrats to him.

    If you have read other things I have written (NCAA News, Sports Business Journal) I do discuss the other side, but again their arguments about education don’t hold up as it is being used as a primary reason to limit athlete mobility and rights which I fundamentally disagree with. Everyone including Cal knows it is a joke and it needs to change and I will continue to fight it. You may not like my methods but they seem to work with others. We can agree to disagree on this and continue to be civil with each, but I call it as I see it and will continue to do so.

    Feel free to contact me anytime and if you have hard data for me to look at that this is an educational benefit, I will gladly do that.

    Comment by B. David Ridpath | April 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. Oh I also stand corrected as I have not kept up with all of the APR changes–but these changes also invalidate your argument even more. Currently if an athlete would have been eligible the subsequent term there is no APR retention penalty so while Kentucky has alot of one and dones, it does not hurt their APR. So I misunderstood too–but it just goes to show you that the one and done does nothing for education it is there to benefit the NCAA and NBA’s business model. Just like the former president of UNC says:

    William C. Friday, the former president of the University of North Carolina, said of Calipari. “If we’re going to be perfectly open and honest about it, we know what we’re doing is acting as a farm club for the commercial advancement of the NCAA.”

    Honesty is priceless. Cheers

    Comment by B. David Ridpath | April 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment