Everything College Sports

For those interested in all things college sports

The ACC Men’s Basketball Tournament (Part 1)

Hello all, I appreciate Dr. Lawrence allowing me to contribute to this blog. My name is Jeremy Hammond and I am a ’08 graduate of Ohio University in the sport management undergraduate program. I am now the Event Services Coordinator for the Georgia Dome. My job grows every day and I am surrounded by great people to learn from. My favorite part of the job is the interaction with the client-whether it be the ACC, SEC, Falcons, the bowl, GHSA-building relationships and gaining their trust. The program at OU prepared me for what I hope will be a long career in this industry.

The ACC is coming back to Atlanta for it’s Men’s Basketball Tournament (March12-15) for the first time since 2001. When an event of this scale comes to town, it takes a city-wide effort to make it a success. For the last 8-9 months, staff from the Georgia Dome, Georgia World Congress Center, Atlanta Sports Council, and the Atlanta Convention and Visitors Bureau have been collaborating to ensure that the ACC walks away March 15 thinking “no-one does it like Atlanta”.

Over the next few weeks leading up to and throughout the tournament I will post updates on the progress of the tournament. My intent is to provide some insight into the planning process, what occurs during event week, and a review/critique of how things went. I think the most important thing that I want to accomplish with the posts is for us to see all of the moving parts.

I know this is a different format than what has been in other posts, but i figured it would be interesting to see the grand scale of things in real time as they are taking place.

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | Basketball, College Sports Business, Facilities and Events |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

